MotoGP Portimao FP3: Fabio Quartararo tops FP3

Fabio Quartararo heads the FP3 session as some surprises go into Q2.

Fabio Quartararo was the fastest man in the MotoGP FP3 session putting himself straight to the top of the leaderboard only 0.045 off a 1:38 time, Quartararo’s lap time was only 0.156 from Miguel Oliveira’s lap record so we are expecting for this record to be broken this afternoon during qualifying, just behind the Frenchman in second place is Franco Morbidelli, the Italian has really struggled in the season openers at Qatar so hopefully this is where his season starts to turn around.

Yesterday’s fastest man Francesco Bagnaia finished in third place and was the third rider within 0.100 of Quartararo’s time showing how massively competitive the premier class is this weekend, we said earlier that the lap record may be broken, I think we can guarantee that this will be smashed later today! Johann Zarco was the rider in P4 after getting through to Q2 in the dying moments of the session.

Jack Miller and Alex Rins were the riders in P5 and P6 ahead of a hugely surprising Luca Marini, Marini was a big surprise putting himself straight into Q2 after narrowly missing out last time out in Doha, it’s a great start to the weekend for the Italian and it’ll be interesting to see what the Moto2 runner up can do, he leads Aleix Espargaro on the Aprilia who also has impressed getting straight into Q2.

Rounding off the Q2 places is Miguel Oliveira and Maverick Vinales.

World Champions Joan Mir, Valentino Rossi and Marc Marquez will all have to go via Q1 to see if they can gain a place in the Q2 session later on to battle for pole position, unfortunately for Marc Marquez he is still lacking some of the strength he needs to really push to 100% and fight.

Jorge Martin suffered a horrific crash during the session and has been taken to the medical centre and is conscious, we will update once there is more information on our social media channels. He has been airlifted to hospital.

Full FP3 results:


Featured image – Yamaha MotoGP