Throwback to Brno 2016, Cal Crutchlow becomes the first British premier class race winner since 1981

At Brno 2016, Cal Crutchlow broke a record which was 35 years in the making, he was the first premier class MotoGP winner since Barry Sheene in 1981.

Great Britain was sick of not having a race winner, riders would come, nearly get there, then leave again, destined for other things. That was until Cal Crutchlow came along, we all knew he was destined for good things, he impressed at Tech3 Yamaha and was a regular podium finisher on the LCR Honda, he just needed that tiny bit of luck to win his first race.

Unknowingly to the Brit, he was about to form part of a group of 8 different riders who won 8 consecutive Grand Prix, a feat never previously achieved. When Cal won at Brno, he put an end to the 35-year wait, a very apt number of years given that the British rider uses the number 35. Since this race, Crutchlow has taken three MotoGP race wins and is the most successful British rider in the MotoGP era.

With more British talent such as Max Cook, Scott Ogden, Joshua Whatley and more starting to appear, we hope it won’t be too long before we are writing another article about a British first-time winner.

Featured image –

Leave a Reply